Why I Do Crossfit

image

If someone would have told me two years ago that in 2014 I would turn into a crossfit junky I would have seriously laughed my ass off. But here I am 3 months into 2014, obsessed with crossfit, and driving all the people who follow my social media (mostly my friends and family) crazy with my constant post and comments about crossfit. I am sure that most people who do crossfit will completely understand where I am coming from, but for those who don’t know anything about crossfit or think it is just the latest fitness fad, I am sure I am nothing short of annoying. All I can say is, I know crossfit isn’t for everyone but don’t judge a book by it’s cover. Crossfit isn’t all that it seems.

I have learned so much from crossfit over the past 3 months. I started crossfit for two reasons. One, I wanted to get into better shape, and two I wanted to experience the community that crossfit has to offer. Crossfit has more then exceeded my expectations in both of these areas. In just three short months I am in the best shape of my life. I am stronger and healthier then I ever would have imagined, in just three short months. It is truly amazing to me what my body is able to do. I have pushed my self mentally and physically more then I ever have in my life. I can’t wait to see what I will look and feel like in a year.

The community of people have been nothing short of amazing. I had read so many blogs about how crossfit has this amazing supportive community of people, that really look out for each other. This is nothing but the truth. I have never been in such a supportive environment in my life. No one is finished in crossfit until everyone is finished. It doesn’t matter if you finish first or last you will always have someone there cheering you on. When does that happen at a regular gym?

Last night I was lucky enough to attend the 14.5 open and was able to watch some of crossfit’s top athletes compete. In keeping with the spirit of the crossfit community and no one is finished until everyone is finished, I was able to witness the top athletes in the world cheering each other on after they finished their wod. They didn’t just walk away, they walked over to the other competitors and cheered them on. That is why I do crossfit.

A few weeks ago I sprained my ankle doing box jumps at crossfit. This was when I was really able to see how caring the community in crossfit is. I had so many messages from people at our box checking on me. These are people I have known less then 3 months and they are checking on me to see how I am doing. I have people I have know most of my life who didn’t even check on me and here was my crossfit family checking on me. That is why I do crossfit.

Another reason I do crossfit is because for 1 hours a day I get to walk into a positive environment, forget about all of my stress, work my ass off, listen to really loud music, and leave feeling like a bad ass. No matter what happens at the box I always leave feeling better then I did when I walked in. You just don’t get that at a regular gym.

I know everyone has their own reason’s for doing crossfit but maybe this will help people understand my obsession with it. 🙂

2 responses

    • I would recommend just going and taking a class. It is a little scary but once you get there everyone is so nice and supportive you will love it. If you go try it let me know what you think.

Leave a comment